Liz Mojica a fellow student blogger documenting her education

I got to speak to my good friend Liz who just started blogging about her education adventure on Lights Can Guide You Home. I asked her about blogging, school, and higher education options today:

  1.  What made you start blogging?  One of the reasons I started blogging is because I wanted some place to vent. It’s not because I don’t have any friends, but it’s cause I don’t want to trouble them so much with hearing me vent. I just wanted a place where I could just go and type out how my day went. I wanted a place where I can write how my life is going. And while I have my Tumblr, that’s more of my interests and not about my life. I didn’t make my blog to have a huge amount of followers. It was never a reason. It doesn’t matter if I have one follower or one thousand followers. All that matters to me is that I have a place to go to express myself in words.
  2. What do you think of the options available for students today in higher education? I feel that there should be more options than just college, especially price friendly options. Thank god there are community colleges. You don’t always need a degree to do something to earn money. 
  3.  What is something that you have learned now, after high school, that you wish you knew in high school? The biggest thing I learned outside of high school and wish I knew back then is that nothing is set in stone. Anything can change in an instant. You think you’re going in one direction, and then reality and life come and changes your course and you end up going in another direction. That’s what happened to me right before college. That’s how I ended up going to community college and not going to the four year I originally intended to. And while it sucks, you have to make do with it and keep going without it holding you back from achieving what you want.
  4.  Any advice to high schoolers? With hard work comes success. Have motivation to do your work, even if you don’t like it. Don’t be lazy and ignore your homework, especially for high level courses like AP and Honors. Don’t wait until the last minute. It’s the worst thing you can do.
  5.  What plans do you have with your education? Hopefully, with my fingers crossed, I end up transferring to a four year college next year, preferably NIU and major in Spanish Translation and Business with a minor in Linguistics and maybe even music performance. I also plan to get either a TESOL/TEFL certification and hopefully teach abroad in the future if translating doesn’t work.
  6. Any other things that you want to add? If I don’t get to go to NIU, I do plan to teach abroad or even au pair through Interexchange. Currently, I’m deciding whether to teach English in Spain for around three months or to Au Pair in New Zealand for 6+ months. Well, besides my name, I am a college freshman. I am a Whovian, Sherlockian, and a Nerdfighter. I am a huge soccer fanatic. I love to not only watch, but to play every once in a while. I have been playing violin for nine years and I don’t plan on quitting, even though I haven’t been in an orchestra since high school. Theatre and baking are my other passions. That’s a pretty good sum of me 

:)

Thoughts?

