Still figuring it out – the documentary, teaching, zines, and all I do

After searching for videos to post for work on AERO, I stumbled across Tavi Gevinson’s Tedx talk on still figuring it out. Being a long-time  fan of her teen girl blog Rookie and how it’s totally zine, DIY, and real (rather than all the photoshopped things!) I thought I would share it with you. Especially since I’ve been on this roller coaster of DIY learning and self-education.

I just want to start with this: I’m still figuring it out. I made this blog with the intention of sharing resources, updates, and business-y type things for the just-starting out entrepreneur. I found out about UnCollege and that led me into the rabbit hole of resources that I am so glad I have found.

But see that’s the thing, while I’m learning, I still do not know it all. I expect while teaching in China many of the students will teach me a thing or two about life. I may have gotten my teaching certification, but it’s all a whirlwind of information and actions that have to be taken.

Regarding my documentary that is in production – it was all an idea that came to be after discussing it with professors and friends. I’ve never made a documentary before, I’ve made vlogs, some commercial documentaries, and a music video (all just learning while on site). But this is bigger and more time consuming. In the best way possible of course! I’ve connected with other filmmakers and asked questions and advice. But the act of filming is still different than talking about it. I’m not 100% sure of what will come post distribution. I keep going through worst-case-scenarios (losing footage, breaking lenses, etc.) and came up with back up plans as well.

In terms of communication, I love my social media – but what many professional or right way social media savvy people keep up their one personality throughout their outlets. We’re all multi0faceted human beings, non? I can be completely goofy and use ALL THE MEMES one moment but then find something inspirational and insightful and want to share it with the world. Balancing out the professional with the silly has come to mind a lot lately. Maybe it’s being out of school and getting rid of ageism as a thought pattern. I know vloggers that are their complete selves – silly, and they are authentic, but that’s what works.

I’m still figuring out those two worlds. The professional and personal, since much of what I do tend to be intermixed. I’m still figuring it out. I don’t like being so serious all the time, but I don’t like being cheesy either… and needless to say humor is not one of my strong suits.

What are your opinions regarding this? Does growing up mean losing a bit of authenticity to get ahead? Tavi stated it best “I’m still figuring it out.” Her authenticity to herself is quite refreshing.

Hope you’re all living a BellaVie!

Thoughts?

