On money and spending things

This year one of my goals was becoming a minimalist. And this is a very good goal to have, especially since I’m subscribed to zenhabits and manvsdebt who remind me weekly about my goal.

Today I purchased a a really nice handmade bag from Etsy seller Ikabags. My other bag broke, and was getting raggy so I thought I should just get a really good quality one that will last a really really long time.

That was the distinction. I would buy cheap things to save money, but then the quality was not that great. Yeah sure I saved a bundle, but what were the costs?

Was the designer paid well? Was the product made in good conditions? Are the materials up cycled? These are some of the questions that boggle my mind – save money, but to what expense?

Being someone that wants to advocate fair-trade transparent practices, not following myown rules can be hard sometimes. Especially when money is tight. But think of cost not just from the perspective of finance. A more holistic approach would be to look at the environmental cost, the human rights cost, and how it effects other around you. Yes, many of our choices no matter how hard we pick and choose (Thanks Monsanto and Chain stores) will always have a negative impact, but being aware of these things is the starting point.

Hope you’re all living a BellaVie!

 

One thought on “On money and spending things

Thoughts?

