Fundraisers and Film School

The fundraiser is this Friday (aaah!). I’m bringing my shirts, buttons, zines, and my friends have made bows and and organic bath bombs for the cause. There will be music by nerdfighters, poetry readings by students, and an explanation as to what The BellaVie Documentary will consist of. Also, Vanilla Video will be there to film the event as well!

My to-do list has expanded this week because I got some editing jobs and a new position to help with the Alternative Education Resource Organization! I’m helping in the video and social media department. Since jointing UnCollege I’ve learned so much on my own and sharing resources felt like the most natural thing to do. So expect a new shared video on the A.E.R.O. website from me. Whether it may be a PBS special on Emotional Intelligence to my favorite Ken Robinson speech about education; I will put it up for people to discover. I’ve also got a special piece to write for K.H.L.O.E. magazine. Also, for magazines and zines in general have you checked out RookieMag? It’s fab – talking about young awesome people.

Second semester classes have begun and a few days ago in my film history class we watched the first ever documentary: Nanook of the North directed by Robert Flaherty in 1922. How cool is that? Documentary films capture a bit of the lifestyles and spirit of a time. What kind of documentarian would I be if I would not have seen the first documentary ever made?

Also, I’ve gained a much deeper appreciation for silent B&W films. Especially  Charlie Chaplin – in both “The Kid” and “The Circus.” I still have yet to see The Dictator,” but the speech that he made in that was so moving. Even though I’m not into the whole making movies and Hollywood dealio, I do believe that storytelling and imagery together can change lives. This is why I focus on writing and filmmaking. I’m still learning a lot (and have much to learn, I’m not anywhere near having my own style with film) and want to figure out all of the software out there. Also having more control over the lenses and such would be lovely. My friend Miten Soni knows how much I geek out about DSLRs.

Another major thing on my to-do list is creating a new Chinese e-mail and having my gmail forward the messages to that one. Also, create my airplane playlist with Jacky Saucedo (who illustrated the awesome flyer for the fundraiser) for dancing on the plane to China. Suggestions are welcome.

Hope you are all living a Bella Vie!

Thoughts?

