How A Community Makes You Who You Are

Today I just got back from DFTBA Records. I was helping pack John Green’s audio book: The Fault in Our Stars. Never in a million years did I think that online communities will have such an impact in my life… Yet, there I was at DFTBA Records, helping pack things with fellow nerdfighters.

I cannot say how much I appreciate and love the Nerdfighter community. I began watching Vlogbrothers two years ago, I loved Youtube Vloggers and creatives. Yes, I tried making videos in 2008 (awful embarrassing ones) but I just watched from afar later on. I watched the regular Charlieissocoollike, KevJumba, WheezyWaiter… But then I read Alan Lastufka’s book about Youtube. It got me motivated to start vlogging again.

I started getting more and more into Nerdfighteria, needless to say I wanted to meet some people that were interested in the same things. So… I organized a Nerdfighter Gathering. The rest is kind of history. There have been many gatherings since, the Chicago Nerdfighter Facebook page is growing and full of awesome people.

Communities come in all shapes and sizes, and this is one of the biggest communities I am in. And I love it!

Hope you’re all living a BellaVie!

Thoughts?

