Exclusive BellaVie Interview with Gamer and Blogger – Mallory

I got to ask some questions of Mallory, creator of Insanely Gaming. A Tumblr Blog about Video Games, Gaming, and the like. Here were some of her answers and don’t forget to check out her stuff!

What got you into gaming?

I got into gaming when I was a lot younger. My Dad and my Uncle are probably what influenced me into playing as much as I do now. When I was younger we owned a PS1 and I played games like Spyro the Dragon, Croc: The Legend of Gobbos, Ape Escape and Cool Boarders. Before I started playing on my own I used to watch my Dad. But the funny thing is, is that I love watching my Dad play. I would sit there for hours and we would just have fun!

Do you feel like you are leading the way into breaking stereotypes of women and gaming?

Yes and no. There are a lot of people today who never believe me when I tell them that I’m a gamer. A lot of people put me down and say I’m like every other girl who talks about video games, and that I’m a liar. But besides these negative things, I think a lot of people are starting to realize that you don’t have to be some freako girl to play video games. I hope the farther I go into my career the more people will realize this.

What advice do you give to aspiring bloggers?

Blog what YOU want to blog about. I say this because I was always hesitating whether or not I should make a video game blog. I also used to have a girly blog mixed with video games and I thought people would unfollow me if I blogged about both and I was worried about what my followers would think, which is ridiculous. So blog what you want to blog about, tag EVERYTHING. And enjoy what you do.

How did you get into blogging?

I actually started blogging 2 years ago on tumblr. And I just thought the pictures were neat. I blogged about my faith, fashion, motivational quotes and I liked all the cute girly pictures. I hardly used tumblr until last December when I broke away from my personal blog and made a gaming blog.

Thoughts?

