Film Festivals and Fears

Tonight is my first International Student Film Festival. Never in a million years did I think that I was going to jump into film. It was sort of by accident, really. I started making Youtube videos in 2008 (which were awful!) and then I really got into photography for a while. I took a photography course in high school and really enjoyed it. But what I really loved was digital.

Photo manipulation, digital video, film editing and composing a scene. It’s been a bit of an obsession of mine to look at things through different angles and perspectives. Perhaps it was my upbringing and learning to look at life not just through Romanian eyes, but also through America eyes, immigrant eyes, a female’s eyes, a shy person’s eyes….

I’m still fairly new on the scene regarding film. I’m learning about different camera angles, composition, and creating a story. I always loved writing and want to become a published author. But instead of writing my novel, I ended up filming clips and editing them together with some of my writing.

I still absolutely love writing, and have more experience with that. But writing for film? I’m fearful I’m not that good. I’m still just an amateur video maker, I’ll watch videos and different styles and see what I can improve and do better. But despite my fear of being considered a “noob” I’ve flung myself into film, and I’m really enjoying the ride.

What are you afraid to try? Why not give it a shot?

Hope you are all living a Bella Vie!

 

One thought on “Film Festivals and Fears

Thoughts?

